Deworming pigs

Lothiriel

Ridin' The Range
Golden Herd Member
Reaction score
Hey all, I'm new here. I've been around over on BackYardChickens for several years though. :)

We are looking for a good dewormer for our 2 pigs -- most of the things we've found are injectable... and none of us (the 3 grown-up girls in the house) have the guts to do an injection. Do any of you have a good oral dewormer? Or, is it true (as I've read around on Google) that you can safely give injectable dewormers orally?

Looking forward to replies... :)

Mo's palominos

Chillin' with the herd
Reaction score
I'm no pig expert, but we do raise one ever year for the freezer and have a PBP as a pet. I use the Wazine 17 from the local farm store. It says to put it in their water, but mine wouldn't drink it very well that way. So last time I mixed it with some creamy French dressing and they drank it right away. I don't know if it affects the effectiveness of the wazine but it sure does get them to drink it !!

elevan

Critter Addict ♥
Reaction score
Mo's palominos said:
I'm no pig expert, but we do raise one ever year for the freezer and have a PBP as a pet. I use the Wazine 17 from the local farm store. It says to put it in their water, but mine wouldn't drink it very well that way. So last time I mixed it with some creamy French dressing and they drank it right away. I don't know if it affects the effectiveness of the wazine but it sure does get them to drink it !!
Putting a water soluble mix into a oil (dressing) may decrease it's effectiveness.

Lothiriel

Ridin' The Range
Golden Herd Member
Reaction score
Mo's palominos said:
Yeah, we were looking at the Wazine, but our pigs always dump their water, so it probably would get wasted before they got the proper dosage. It does sound good for my chickens though.

elevan said:
http://www.jefferslivestock.com/categor amp;c2c=ln
That's several options for dewormers - both injection and oral.