Kiko goats....IKGA, AKGA and NKR.......what is the deal?

GoatRancher11

Chillin' with the herd
Reaction score
Guys,

Starting up my purebred Kiko herd and just got my first 3 Kikos and my donkey last week. They are doing great. What I just found out is that the NKR (National Kiko Registration) is not recognized by the IKGA (International Kiko Goat Association) or the AKGA (American Kiko Goat Association). One of the most reputable breeders I'm getting goats from only registers goats with the NKR.

For anyone who understands this mess, please explain to me. I'm new in the goat business of course and as soon as I get into it, seems like the registration and DNA part of it has people who disagree with each other in a major way. Sounds like the business will suffer b/c of predictaments b/t breeders from around the country.

If anyone knows what has happened, please explain this to me so I'm not in the dark! Sounds like a mess but a mess I need to figure out!

Thank you in advance.

jodief100

True BYH Addict
Reaction score
It is politics and personality conflicts.

The NKR was formed by someone dissatisfied with the associations and was highly critical of them.

The associations did not appreciate the criticism and refuse to recognize the NKR. They claim it has to do with DNA verification and the like but it is all about somone got their feelings hurt.

The NKR is not an association per say, it is registry and that is all they do. Since kiko's do not have shows it makes sense to me.

Since the NKR is attracting some of the biggest names in Kiko goats perhaps this situation may change in the future.

Good luck.

This is of course, all my own opinion. I may be wrong. I doubt it though......

20kidsonhill

True BYH Addict
Reaction score
Same problem with boer goats, the ABGA no longer accepts registration from the IBGA and the USBGA. It is a pain in the rear-end when trying to buy goats.

carolinagirl

Ridin' The Range
Reaction score