Recurrent Diarhea

Corinne

Just born
Reaction score
Hello! I’m new to BYH and in need of a little advice. Typically I would opt straight for veterinary care vs “Dr. Goggling” but this hopefully is somewhat simple. First and foremost Regina (1.5 week old Brangus calf) is doing well for the most part. She is acting like a normal spunky little lady. Her appetite is great, she drinks water well on her own and every day we make more progress with calf starter... she is starting to graze a bit now as well. Since she was born she is having recurrent diarrhea that I’ve been monitoring very carefully. I first thought it was the colostrum supplement and then switching her to milk replacer but her feeding and schedule has been the same for about 7 days or so now. It’s intermittent and it seems every other bowel movement is VERY runny. I give her a dose of Probios probably every other day and it seems to help some, but then we just jump back to this runny stool. What would you all suggest my next step be? I was reading about scours pills (terramycin) but I’d prefer to not use anything and let it run it’s course if this is somewhat normal. She is my first bottle baby.

farmerjan

Herd Master
Reaction score
Several questions. Where did she come from? Private owner, sale barn ????? Do you know if she got colostrum or just what you were giving her?

It could very well be coccidiosis as that will cause most scours in the 1-4 week time frame. It is supposed to be species specific; that said, I only have that problem when I keep calves at a barn where there were turkeys about 5+ years ago. And poultry are known to carry coccidiosis and often not have problems. Is there any blood in it?