Feeding a dairy goat

DustyBoot

Loving the herd life
Reaction score
I know this must be about the 100th thread of this title, and I promise I've been reading everything I can find, but I want to check myself with some outside opinions if anyone is willing to offer thoughts.

I picked up Thelma yesterday from a couple who's going on the road in an RV so getting rid of their three goats. She's been loose with a buck and they estimate she's due March/April. Not real precise, but we'll work with it. We've only had goats since August, and those are Kiko crosses, so I'm far from a goat expert and I know dairy goats are a different ballgame anyway. We kind of expect the Kikos to fend for themselves with access to lots of forage, fresh water, and loose mineral. We lay eyes and/or hands on them multiple times a day, and if they start to lose condition we'll notice and do something about it, but they don't currently get any sort of extras and seem to be doing fine.

I assume Thelma is going to be different and would do best with regular feeding. My idea is that once she's able to be turned in with the other goats she'll forage with them and I'll bring her in morning and night for some feed and handling. I'd like to get a milking stand built pretty soon and start feeding her on there and handling her while she eats so that it's not new when I start milking. Does that sound like a reasonable plan? How much, ish, should I expect to feed her when she's out foraging during the day?

And on to the more immediate question. I know dairy goats are going to look bonier than meat goats, but she seems skinny to me, especially for being pregnant. As best you can tell from the picures, am I right? And if so, is she just a little skinny or oh-my-goodness-get-some-weight-on-her-now skinny?

Edited to add: they said she's three years old. She's been milked before so it won't be new to her, but it'll be new to me and I'll be new to her, so some acclimation seems appropriate.

thelma010918.jpg