New Calves, Feeding?

larryj57

Loving the herd life
Reaction score
Good Morning all,
I bought 6 Jersey/Holstien cross calves last week, this is my first time in the cattle business so I'm looking for advice. The man i got them from said they were a week old but I'm thinking they were more like 3 days at the most. All are lively and engeritic so far. the question is there has been two mornings when 2 of the calves wouldn't take their bottle, not even touch them. the other 4 , suck the bottom out in a short time. it was 2 different calves each time. they both drank good at the evening feeding, should i worry about this?

The calves are being fed by hanging bottles on bottle racks, no problem with that so far, I am also trying to train them to tie while they are being fed, again having good luck with that.I have 5 Bull calves and 1 hefier, at what age should I band the bulls?

And last of all what would be a good price for these type calves at 3 days old? I think I:) got a good deal being as they are going to be 2 weeks old tomorrow and they are all still alive.

jhm47

True BYH Addict
Reaction score
First of all, Jersey cross calves are not in high demand. Many bring less than $50/head around here, while beef cross calves will bring upwards of $250/head.

Sounds like you got some good ones if you haven't had any health/scours problems yet. One of the biggest things that I have experienced is that very young calves are best kept on the hungry order for the first week or so. Overfeeding is one of the biggest causes of scours. It can even cause pneumonia if the calf overeats and aspirates some of the milk. When I used to raise calves on bottles, I quickly learned that cutting their rations by 20 - 25% for the first week and gradually increasing to the recommended rate was far better than getting a scours outbreak and treating that for several days/weeks, and possibly losing a calf or two.