Affordable goat fencing options?

mandi224

Chillin' with the herd
Reaction score
We have just over 3.5 acres on our new little homestead and ultimately we're hoping to keep 2 or 3 Nigerian Dwarf does. The breeder we've been talking to just let us know she has a doe due Jan. 8 that she *may* be willing to sell WITH her kids. So now I'm scrambling to get everything ready just in case we like her.

Right now, none of our acreage is fenced at all, so we're starting from scratch. We're working with open pasture with very few trees, mostly flat.

What would be the minimum area we should fence initially? (Ultimately we want to fence the whole area, but with our budget we need to do it in a few stages.)

What type of fencing is good for dwarf goats, but also most affordable? We live on a busy road, so I have fears of the goats getting out and causing a traffic accident, so I want to make sure it's secure. I'm a complete newbie to fencing (I didn't grow up on a farm or anything, and haven't found a local mentor yet), so links to specific product examples are helpful.

The goat breeder we're working with recommends cattle panels, but the price! In contrast, our son's 4-H leader just has a 3-wire electric fence to keep in her goats (a mix of pygmies and alpines) and ponies. It seems to work for HER but from everything I've read, that doesn't seem like nearly enough!

Thanks in advance for the help, and please forgive my newbie questions. :) Doing my best to learn!

Hens and Roos

Herd Master
Reaction score
Welcome :frow, glad you joined us! Goats are additive ;), we planned to just get 2 and now a year later we are up to 9!

We have fence called 2x4 no climb horse fence- we got ours from Farm and Fleet but TSC sells it as well. It is on the pricey side but it has worked well for us so far and we do have a buck who will work the fence over a bit. We have an area about 45' x 55' for pasture with a shelter for the goats and another sheltered area 10' x 14' that we use.